Sunday, April 8, 2018

Source Naturals Ascorbyl Palmitate Oral Challenge for Corn/Corn-Derived Ingredients

I have been conducting oral challenges of products advertised as "corn free" by the manufacturer.  If I experience a corn allergy reaction, I then file reports with the manufacturer, the FDA, and the FTC.

I strongly recommend that you do not attempt any oral food challenges unless you are in the presence of your physician.  Although I have not yet experienced an anaphylactic reaction to corn or my other allergens, I did have epinephrine auto-injector pens available (prescribed for my allergy to most antibiotics).

Failed oral challenges of Source Naturals Ascorbyl Palmitate 500 mg. 45 Tablets
Amazon UPC Code X001OJV1M3
Lot #FG-86116
“Suggested Use: 1 to 5 tablets daily with meals.
Other ingredients: dibasic calcium phosphate, microcrystalline cellulose, stearic acid, hydroxypropyl cellulose, modified cellulose gum, and silica.
Suitable for vegetarians and HYPOALLERGENIC: contains no yeast, dairy, egg, gluten, corn, soy or wheat.  Contains no sugar, starch, salt, preservatives, or artificial color, flavor or fragrance.”

March 21, 2018:  2 tablets after meal; allergic reaction requiring antihistamine
March 26, 2018:  3 tablets after meal; allergic reaction requiring antihistamine
March 28, 2018:  3 tablets after meal; allergic reaction requiring antihistamine

My reactions to this product were very uncomfortable abdominal swelling (“corn baby”), accompanied by pounding heart and slightly elevated pulse.  These are my usual allergic reactions after consuming any corn/corn-derived ingredients. 

I reported my reactions to Maria (831)-345-0896, who indicated that her suppliers had guaranteed their ingredients to be free from corn-derived ingredients.  I urged her to contact her suppliers again, since at least one of the ingredients is derived from corn as evidenced by my allergic reaction. 

For allergy comparison, my corn allergy tested at 1+ on skin-scratch testing in 2011; however, my reactions to corn/corn derivatives have significantly escalated in the last couple of years.  I strongly recommend avoidance of this product if you have an allergy to corn.  

In the event you experience a corn allergy reaction to a product that is labeled "corn free," refer to instructions for filing reports in the following links:

Non-FDA-Compliant "Corn-Free" Claims (Revised 11/16/17); Title 21 U.S.C. - Section 343, Chapter 1 - Adulterated or Misbranded Foods or Drugs

FTC Filing a Complaint to Report False and Misleading Labeling

UPDATE MAY 6, 2018:
Since the corn-free claim for this product has not been redacted, I filed a report with the FTC this evening due to their false and misleading product ingredient claims.

UPDATE JUNE 18, 2018:
I filed an adverse reaction report with the FDA. 

Diane H., Corn Allergy Advocate
Corn Allergy Advocacy/Resources